Going on a journey with Lewis and Clark!!!

This week will be the  second week I will be an intern with Lewis and Clark Community College.  If it is anything like the

Lewis & Clark Community College
Lewis & Clark Community College (Photo credit: Drawings Of Light – Paul)

first week I know it’s going to be a good week.  I don’t know if it takes a certain kind of person to like writing all day but I so far it suits me to a “t.”  I am very glad to have the opportunity to work with the Media Services department at LC. I have already been able to write a piece for the website as well as several waiting for their turn on the site.  I am also going to be able to write a story for the local paper, The Alton Telegraph.    Not only am I gaining valuable on the job experience and building a portfolio, I am also getting credit hours for my Speech Communication degree at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.  I think I will learn so much from this opportunity.  I have only been in the office a week and I have already started to learn.  Being there a short time has already spurred me to go on to get another associate degree in different areas using the 30 and out program that L&C offers.  As if I am not excited enough to graduate this internship is causing me to look forward even more to becoming a public relations professional.  This internship and the people I get to work with everyday are also making me rethink my decision about a Master’s degree.  Looking forward it looks like it would be a good choice to stay in school and continue on with my graduate degree.  There is till time for all that.  Who knows what the journey will bring by the time Spring 2014 rolls around.

Leave a Reply

