Curly hair don’t care!

When you are describing someone to another person you typically pick out a feature that was memorable. Like “O she had really blue eyes and was really tall” or “the girl that had

IMG_6637
Me and my Curls

on the really crazy dress.” For me it I am probably the “girl with the super curly hair.” I have very curly hair. There was no way around it. My mother, father, maternal grandfather, brother, and maternal great grandfather all have curly hair. My dad’s side of the family has curly hair as well. So the fact I have a massive amount of curls isn’t that surprising. Growing up I hated my hair with a passion. One reason was it was different and I got picked on for it. Because I didn’t really know how to take care of it then I struggled with the way it looked and I never felt comfortable. My mom, who also has curly hair, would help me but her hair is different from mine. It took me a long time to figure out what would work for me, so I would like to share some of the things that helped me become one with my hair and learn how to deal with it. I am still learning and trying new things.

Before you start changing your routine there are a few things you need to consider and understand about curly hair. First it is naturally very dry and course. Next, every person and their curls are different. What might work for me might not work for you but on the flip side, some concepts are universal (like brushing curly hair but we will talk about that later). Lastly, you have to be willing to change your routine a little. It isn’t as easy and changing products. It takes some work!

  1. StopShampooing.jpgDitch the shampoo! No, don’t stop washing your hair. Just get rid of sudsing shampoos. Most shampoos have hash chemicals and solvents that strip the hair of the natural oils. Since curly hair is so dry already, taking out the oils is really hard on it. Not that I don’t enjoy a good shampoo every once in a while, but it is much better for your hair if you switch to a “no-poo” routine. There are so many products out there that clean the scalp without stripping your hair. DevaCurl is what I am using right now, but there are countless options. Use what works for your hair.
  2. Toss the hairbrush! Yep, get rid of that brush! One of the worst things you can do for curly hair is brush it after you cleanse and condition. Rather than brushing or combing after your shower, use a wide tooth comb or your fingers to get the tangles out before you rinse out your conditioner in the shower. Your curls so back to their natural curl pattern then you rise them out, but combing or brushing after your shower breaks up the curl causing fizz and undefined curls.
  3. Use a t-shirt not a towel. Might seem strange to use a t-shirt to dry your hair but it really helps. Towels have fibers that grab and pull at curls causing that unwanted halo of frizz. Using a t-shirt is much gentler on the curls and help them retain their shape and cuts down on the fizz.
  4. Condition, condition, condition- If you only take away one of these tips I hope it is this one. You might live in the most humid place on the earth but your curls are still thirsty! Use a leave in conditioner every day. It might seem like over kill but using a leave in conditioner can keep your curls soft and shinny and it cuts down on frizz. Extra frizz is your hair’s way of begging for more moisture. I like to take a pump of my regular conditioner after my shower as a leave in conditioner or I mix it 30/70% (H2O) and spray it all over. That mixture is also nice to have around to help tame your hair throughout the day if you feel like your curls are getting a little dry and frizzy.

hair-tupe-chart.jpg

Now that you have a couple things to help revamp your routine remember that not all curls are created equal. There are different curl types and not every curl is going to behave the same way. Play around a little and figure out what works for you!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. RamblingLisa says:

    From one curly girl to another, great post x

Leave a Reply

